Bradbourne, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bradbourne, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.pngDerbyshire Parishes

Guide to Bradbourne, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bradbourne, Derbyshire
Bradbourne All Saints Derbyshire.jpg
Bradbourne All Saints Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree; Wirksworth
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashbourne
Registration District Ashbourne; Bakewell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1713
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ashbourne
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

BRADBORNE (All Saints), a parish, partly in the hundred of Appletree, but chiefly in that of Wirksworth, S. division of the county of Derby, 5 miles (N. N. E.) from Ashbourn; comprising the township of Aldwark, the chapelries of Atlow, Ballidon, and Brassington, and the hamlet of Lea-Hall. At Brassington and Atlow are separate incumbencies, and at Ballidon a chapel of ease. [1]

Bradbourne is also one of England's 'Thankful villages' - eighteen conscripts were sent to fight in the Great War and all returned home safely.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241299.


Church records

Bradbourne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials haveonline indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Bradbourne All Saints (1713) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1713-1882
  NONE
1713-1881
  NONE
1713-1912
  NONE

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click Llist contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District

  • Ashboourne

Poor Law Unions

Ashbourne Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bradbourne on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 326-331. Date accessed: 26 April 2013.