Bradwell, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bradwell, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Bradwell, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bradwell, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bampton
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Witney
Registration District Faringdon; Witney
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1721
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Witney
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

BROADWELL, or Bradwell, a village in the district of Witney, and a parish in the districts of Witney and Faringdon, and county of Oxford. The village stands on Akeman-street, 4 miles NNE of Lechlade, and 8½ SW of Witney r. station. The parish includes also the hamlet of Filkins, the chapelry of Holwell, and the township of Kelmscott. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bradwell, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Bradwell, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1680-1852
OFHS 1615-1999
1620-1999
1619-1998


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474571.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Finney, Janet. A Short History of the Hemmings. History and family names of John Hemming and nee Ann Harris and the following surnames, Green, Smith, Whitney, Blunt, Jones, in the following areas Gloucestershire, Oxfordshire, Northampton, North Wales. Article dated from 1731-1910, and is found in Fottprints (Northamptonshire Family History Society Magazine)Nov 2010. vol. 33. no. 2. pages 18-24, Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo v.33.no2

 

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 16 January 2014. Described as Broadwell in Oxfordshire.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.