Brampton St Thomas, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Brampton St Thomas, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Brampton St Thomas, Derbyshire|
|Poor Law Union||Chesterfield|
|Parish registers: 1832|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1833|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
BRAMPTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Chesterfield, hundred of Scarsdale, N. division of the county of Derby, 3 miles (W. by N.) from Chesterfield; containing, with Cutthorpe township. This parish, which was formerly part of that of Chesterfield, is situated on the road from Chesterfield to Bakewell. A district church dedicated to St. Thomas was consecrated in 1832. It stands on the Chatsworth road, about a mile west of the town of Chesterfield, and is in the style of architecture prevailing in the fourteenth century, presenting a pleasing object in the surrounding landscape. There are places of worship for Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists..
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241296.
Brampton St Thomas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials haveonline indexes by the following groups:
| FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|Brempton St Thomas Parish (1832) Online Records|
| FS PR's
Brampton St Thomas in 1832 with eastern part of Old Brampton parish and from the parish of St Mary and All Saints Chesterfield, Derbyshire Walton, Holymoorside and part of Newbold. A chapel of ease to this parish was built in 1841 at Holymoorside. Newbold with Dunstan was created in 1861 and part of this parish transferred with others forming later in the 20th century.
Derbyshire Record Office reference D2443 has deposited registers Bap 1832-1999 Marr 1832-1992 Bur 1832-1974 Banns 1832-1908, 1924-1941,1950-2000
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
- Primitive Methodists
- Wesleyan Methodists
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Brampton St Thomas (New Brampton) on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 339-343. Date accessed: 01 July 2013.