Branxton, Northumberland Genealogy
Guide to Branxton, Northumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Branxton St+Paul Northumberland
|Poor Law Union||Glendale|
|Parish registers: 1738|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1762|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Northumberland Record Office|
BRANXTON, a parish, in the union of Glendale, W. division of Glendale ward, N. division of Northumberland, 4¾ miles (E. S. E.) from Coldstream, and 9¼ (N. W.) from Wooler.
St. Paul, Branxton occupies the site of an ancient church, which was rebuilt in 1849. It is close to the Scottish border.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Branxton, Northumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free|
|Branxton, Northumberland Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/ 1762-1856 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The images are awaiting reloading by engineers in future.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events. Branxton, St Paul: Records of baptisms 1736-1997, marriages 1754-1863 and burials 1739-1969 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Bishops' Transcripts for the period 1762-1856 are deposited at Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections, Palace Green, Durham City. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1736-1812 and marriages 1754-1811 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1754-1811 and banns 1754-1800. Transcripts of baptisms 1746-1812, marriages 1754-1812 and burials 1739-1812 for Branxton are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Branxton (microfiche TN74) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438892.
Poor Law Union
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.