Bream, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bream, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Bream, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bream, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred St Briavells
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Monmouth
Registration District Monmouth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1752
Bishop's Transcripts: A few
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Forest
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford Post 1541- Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

BREEM, a chapelry, in the parish of Newland,union of Monmouth, hundred of St. Briavell's,W. division of the county of Gloucester, 5½ miles(W. by S.) from Blakeney. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bream, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
DEAN = Forest of Dean Family History Trust - free[6]
Bream, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1751-1812 1751-1812 1751-1812 1751-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1855-1938 1855-1938 1827-1986 1827-1986
DEAN 1751-1922 1855-1941 1790-1799, 1827-1986

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288776.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 353-357. Date accessed: 07 May 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 5 July 2016.
  6. 'Transcript Summary,' Forest of Dean Family History Trust, accessed 5 July 2016. The Forest of Dean Family History Trust's 'policy is not to show records within the following cut off years - Baptisms 90 years, Marriages 70 years, Burials 30 years.'