Brechfa, Carmarthenshire Genealogy
A guide to genealogy in Brechfa, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.
BRECHVA (BRECHFA), a parish, in the union of LLANDILO-FAWR, higher division of the hundred of CATHINOG ... 11 miles (N.E.) from Carmarthen. This parish is pleasantly situated on the river Cothy, a stream abounding with excellent trout, and in a beautifully romantic valley, surrounded on all sides by lofty hills of varied aspect, among which is plenty of game. The soil is fertile; and the lands, which are all inclosed, are in a good state of cultivation. A turnpike-road, connecting the counties of Cardigan, Carmarthen, and Glamorgan, has been constructed, which, passing through the parish, has materially contributed to the increase of population. The church, dedicated to St Teilo, and situated at the extremity of the parish, upon the little river Pib, is a small plain edifice, without either tower or spire. There is a place of worship for Calvinistic Methodists.
For more information on Brechfa see Brechfa at Genuki.
|before 31 March 1974||Carmarthenshire|
|1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996||Dyfed|
|from 1 April 1996||Carmarthenshire|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464307.
Poor Law Union Records
Maps and Gazetteers
- Brechfa at Vision of Britain.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 92-125. Adapted. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.