Holmens Parish København, København, Denmark

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Denmark Gotoarrow.pngCopenhagen City Gotoarrow.pngHolmens

Guide to Holmens, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


History

A special congregation for naval personnel was begun in 1617, and in 1619 Holmens church was dedicated. At first, only seamens families worshiped there, but eventually, a civilian congregation was created. In 1805, it was expanded to receive part of the discontinued Skt. Nikolaj parish. In 1878, it received part of Garnisons parish, and a part of Christiansborg Slotsogn in 1965. Also, a part of the parish was incorporated into the new Skt. Pauls parish in 1877.

Also known as Bremerholm parish.

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Add here
Jurisdictions
Stift Add here
Pastorat Add here
Amt 1662 - 1793 Add here
Amt 1794 - 1970 Copenhagen City
Herred Add here
Kommune Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number Add here
1794 – 1869 Lægd number Add here
Retskreds Add here
Skifteretten Add here
Gods Add here


Street Names

Adelgade, Admiralgade, Asylgade

Balsamgade, Bjørnegade, Boldhusgade, Borgergade, Bremerholm, Bryggerlænge

Cort Adelers Gade

Delfingade, Dephingade, Dybensgade

Elephantgade, Elsdyrsgade, Enhjørnegade

Fortunstræde

Gernersgade, Grønlandsgade, Gaasegade

Halmstræde, Haregade, Havnegade, Heibergsgade, Herluf Trolles Gade, Hindegade, Hjertensfrydsgade, Hjortegade, Hjortelænge, Holbergsgade, Holmensgade, Holmens Kanal, Hoppenslænge, Hummergade, Hvælingen, Højbro Plads

Integade

Kamelgade, Kaningade, Kaninlænge, Kasserne, Kattegade, Kirkestræde, Klerkegade, Kongens Nytorv, Krokodillegade, Krusemøntegade

Labratorium, Labratorium på Christianshavn, Laksegade, Lavendelgade, Leopardlænge, Lille Kirkestræde, Lille Kongensgade, Lille Ulkegade, Lorentsensgade, Løvegade

Meriansgade

Nellikegade, Niels Juels Gade, Nikolajgade, Nikolaj Kirkegang, Nikolaj Plads/Torv, Nyboder, Nybygte Længe, Nygade, Nyhavn, Ny Østergade

Peder Skrams Gade, Peder Rodes Gade, Pendsvinegade

Reverentsgade, Rosengade, Rævegade

Sahlengade, Salviegade, Sankt Jørgensensgade, Skolemesterlænge, Skvaldergade, Slagtertorvet, Smedensgade, Store Kirkestræde, Store Kongensgade, Store Ulkegade, Stuengade, Størrestræde, Svanegade, Sølvgade

Tigergade, Timiansgade, Tordenskjoldsgade, Tulipangade, Tulipanlænge

Ulkegade, Ulvegade

Ved Stranden, Vingaardstræde

Østergade

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, København Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Denmark, København" and then select your parish.

References