Brent Pelham, Hertfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Brent Pelham, Hertfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes

Guide to Brent Pelham, Hertfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brent Pelham, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Edwinstree
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Bishop’s Stortford
Registration District Bishop Stortford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1829
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buntingford
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral; Post-1844 - Court of the Archdeaconry of St Albans
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Parish History

Brent-Pelham (Virgin Mary), is a parish in the Bishop-Stortford district of Hertfordshire, and 5 miles E of Buntingford railway station.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brent Pelham, Hertfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Brent Pelham, Hertfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
HERTS To 1837


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288830.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Brent Pelham on GENUKI


  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 January 2014.
  2. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.