Bretby, Derbyshire Genealogy
|Hundred||Repton and Gresley|
|Poor Law Union||Burton upon Trent|
|Registration District||Burton upon Trent|
|Parish registers: 1766; For more records see Repton|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1766|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Bretby, county of Derby.—See Bradby.
BRADBY, a chapelry, in the parish of Repton, union of Burton-upon-Trent, hundred of Repton and Gresley, S. division of the county of Derby, 3 miles (E.) from Burton..
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241295.
Bretby parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Bretby St Wystan (1766) Chapelry Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1766-1897
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
- Wesleyan Methodist
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Burton upon Trent
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Bretby on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 326-331. Date accessed: 01 July 2013.