Brewhouse Yard, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Brewhouse Yard, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Brewhouse Yard, Nottinghamshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Radford
Registration District Radford
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Parish History

BREWHOUSE YARD, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Radford, S. division of the Wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham. A society, called the"Philadelphians," or the"Family of Love," from the love they professed to bear all men, even the most wicked, used to meet here; their founder was one David George, an Anabaptist, of Holland, who first propagated his doctrines in Switzerland, where he died in 1556.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Brewhouse Yard

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438904.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Radford Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Lewis,Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 357-362. Date accessed: 30 August 2013.