Brighton All Souls, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Brighton All Souls, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Brighton All Souls, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Brighton|
|Parish registers: 1846|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
BRIGHTON (St. Nicholas), a sea-port, borough, market-town, and parish, in the hundred of Whalesbone, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 30 miles (E.) from Chichester, and 52 (S.) from London; There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, the Society of Friends, the Connexion of the Countess of Huntingdon, Huntingtonians, Scottish Seceders, Wesleyans, and others; also Bethel chapel, belonging to the Mariners' Friend Society; a Roman Catholic chapel, and a synagogue. The church ofAll Souls, Upper Edward-street, erected in 1833, contains 1100 sittings, nearly all free: the living is a perpetual curacy 
Brighton All Souls was an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Sussex, created in 1834 from Brighton St Nicholas, Sussex. All Souls Church was a simple stuccoed building whose main feature was a low tower with a clock face which was a later addition. The interior had galleries on three sides with box pews an a central three-decker pulpit.
The church was re-modeled in 1879 by Edmund Scott and Hyde. There were stained glass windows by Kempe, some of which are now in Norwich Cathedral.
The building was demolished during road widening in 1968.
Church history Brighton All Souls
See 'The borough of Brighton', A History of the County of Sussex: Volume 7: The rape of Lewes (1940), pp. 244-263. here
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Suggars, Leslie, and Leeson, Francis. Military Marriages in Brighton in Napoleonic Times. List of Military marriages arranged by Unit (grooms only). Entries are in the Brighton Marriage Register at the County Record Office or Society of Genealogists, London. The article covers the years 1754-1837. Article to be found in magazine Sussex Family Historian, vol.1, #4, March 1974, pages 88-92, and page 96. Family History Library Ref. 942.52 Bsu
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464165.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Brighton Residents - the 1662 Hearth Tax. A list of householders along with the number of hearths in their houses. More detail is available in the original record. Article to be found in Sussex Family Historian, vol.7, Sept. 1974 pages 213-216, Family History Library Ref. 942.25 B2su
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 369-375. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.