Brimpsfield, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Brimpsfield, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brimpsfield, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rapsgate
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Cirencester
Registration District Cirencester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1587
Bishop's Transcripts: 1616
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stonehouse
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

BRIMPSFIELD (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Cirencester, hundred of Rapsgate, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 8 miles (E. N. E.) from Cirencester. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brimpsfield, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[6]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[7]
Brimpsfield, Gloucestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1616-1856 1616-1856 1616-1753 1616-1753 1616-1856 1616-1856
AC 1813-1895 1813-1895 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1942 1813-1942
FHSO 1800-1837
IARC 1591-1699 (gaps) 1591-1699 (gaps) 1591-1699 (gaps)
IARC 1701-1806 (gaps) 1701-1806 (gaps) 1701-1806 (gaps)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288775.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 375-379. Date accessed: 07 May 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 5 July 2016.
  6. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  7. 'Extracts from the Brimpsfield Parish Registers, 1591-1806,' in Gloucestershire Notes and Queries, Vol. 1 (1881):402-405, 459-461 Digitised by Internet Archive - free. From a transcript made in 1833.