Bristol All Saints, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bristol

Guide to Bristol All Saints, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol All Saints, Gloucestershire
All Saints or All Hallows Bristol engraving.jpg
All Saints or All Hallows Bristol engraving
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Bristol
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Bristol Record Office

Parish History

The church of All Saints, formerly known as All Hallows, was founded in Norman times. One of the original City churches, its nave, bordered by narrow lanes, is now largely hidden behind commercial buildings at the junction of High Street and Corn Street.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.






Church records

Bristol All Saints, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[2]
FMP = Gloucestershire, Bristol parish register indexes (findmypast) (£)[3]
FS BTs= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[4]
FS PRs= Gloucestershire, Bristol parish registers (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[4]
BRISTOL ALL SAINTS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1657-1821
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS BTs Undefined 1663-1872 Undefined 1663-1872 Undefined 1663-1872
FS PRs 1560-1910 1560-1763 1560-1754 1560-1763 None 1561-1766
FS PRs 1650-1812 1653-1752 1653-1812
FS PRs 1837-1932 1837-1932 1754-1812 1868-1907 1868-1907
FS PRs 1813-1853 1813-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Bishop's transcripts for All Saints Church, Bristol, 1663-1872 Microfilm of original records at the Bristol Record Office, Bristol.
Bristol Record Office: EP/V/4/20

Content Film
Baptisms, 1663, 1671, 1675-1680, 1683-1685, 1688-1690, 1693-1696, 1699-1700, 1716-1717, 1727-1728, 1735-1738, 1740-1744, 1746-1751, 1759-1763, 1768-1770, 1776, 1778, 1781, 1785-1796, 1798, 1800, 1803-1818, 1820-1839, 1841-1853, 1865-1869, 1871-1872; Marriages, 1662, 1671, 1675-1676, 1678-1680, 1683, 1688-1690, 1695-1696, 1700, 1716, 1727-1728, 1735-1738, 1740-1750, 1763, 1769, 1776, 1778, 1781, 1785-1793, 1795-1796, 1798, 1802-1815, 1817-1822, 1824-1835, 1837-1838, 1841-1842, 1845-1848, 1868-1872; Burials, 1663, 1671, 1675-1680, 1683-1685, 1688-1690, 1693-1696, 1699-1700, 1716-1717, 1727-1728, 1735-1738, 1740-1751, 1753, 1759-1763, 1768-1770, 1776, 1778, 1781-1782, 1785-1796, 1802-1815, 1818, 1820, 1822-1825, 1827-1829, 1831-1836, 1838-1843, 1847-1851, 1853. FHL BRITISH Film
1595499 Item 8


Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288782.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. About Bristol, England, UK – Bristol Churches, History, Architecture, Landmarks, Statues http://www.about-bristol.co.uk/chu-04.asp
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, Bristol Life Events Parish Lists,' findmypast.co.uk, accessed 31 May 2016.
  4. 4.0 4.1 'FamilySearch Catalogue,' FamilySearch, accessed 1 June 2016.