Bristol Christ Church with St Ewen, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bristol

Guide to Bristol Christ Church with St Ewen, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol Christ Church with St Ewen, Gloucestershire
Christ Church with St Ewen Bristol .jpg
Christ Church with St Ewen Bristol
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Bristol
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Bristol St Ewen beginning 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670; Separate records exist for Bristol St Ewen beginning 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Bristol Record Office

Parish History

Christ Church with St Ewen (grid reference ST588730) is a Church of England parish church in Broad Street, Bristol, England.

It was built between 1786 and 1791, designed by William Paty and built by his relatives Thomas Paty and Sons, replacing a medieval one. The building was restored in 1973.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.






Church records

Bristol Christ Church, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BAFHS = Bristol and Avon Family History Society - free[2]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[4]
FMP = Gloucestershire, Bristol parish register indexes (findmypast) (£)[5]
FS BTs= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[6]
FS PRs= Gloucestershire, Bristol parish registers (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
BRISTOL CHRIST CHURCH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BAFHS 1754-1812
BIVRI 1654-1886 1655-1906
BOYD 1671-1811
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS BTs Undefined 1627-1812 Undefined 1627-1812 Undefined 1627-1812
FS BTs Undefined 1813-1869 Undefined 1813-1859 Undefined 1813-1854
FS PRs 1538-1720 1538-1720 1538-1720 1538-1720 1538-1720 1538-1720
FS PRs 1654-1659 1653-1657 1653-1659
FS PRs 1660-1764 1661-1754 1660-1764
FS PRs 1721-1812 1721-1812 1721-1812 1721-1754 1721-1812 1721-1812
FS PRs 1761-1769 1754-1780 1678-1679, 1761-1769
FS PRs 1837-1932 1837-1932 1781-1812 1858-1890 1858-1890
FS PRs 1813-1854 1813-1835
FS PRs 1835-1837
IGI 1653-1933

Bristol St Ewen, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BRISTOL ST EWEN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1661-1792
FS BTs Undefined 1673-1791 Undefined 1673-1791 Undefined 1673-1791
FS BTs Undefined 1813-1854
FS PRs 1538-1790 1538-1792 1538-1790 1538-1792 1538-1790 1538-1792

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288782.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, 'Christ Church with St Ewen,' Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christ_Church_with_St_Ewen, accessed 31 May 2016.
  2. Christchurch Parish Baptisms on the B&AFHS CD - Bristol Diocese Baptismal Registers Vols. 11 to 14 : 1754 - 1812, Bristol and Avon Family History Society website, accessed 28 May 2016.
  3. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  4. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, Bristol Life Events Parish Lists,' findmypast.co.uk, accessed 31 May 2016.
  6. 6.0 6.1 'FamilySearch Catalogue,' FamilySearch, accessed 1 June 2016.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Gloucester (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 May 2016.