Bristol Holy Trinity, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bristol

Guide to Bristol Holy Trinity, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol Holy Trinity, Gloucestershire
Holy Trinity Lawrence Hill Bristol contributor William Avery.jpg
Holy Trinity Lawrence Hill Bristol contributor William Avery
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barton Regis; Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Bristol
Registration District Bristol; Clifton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1831
Bishop's Transcripts: 1834
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Bristol Record Office

Parish History

Holy Trinity Church The church was built between 1829 and 1832 by Thomas Rickman and Henry Hutchinson, two architects from Birmingham.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bristol Holy Trinity and St Philip, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[3]
FMP = Gloucestershire, Bristol parish register indexes (findmypast) (£)[4]
FS BTs= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[5]
FS PRs= England, Bristol Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1828-1909 1835-1906
BOYD 1835-1859
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS BTs Undefined 1833-1848 Undefined 1833-1847 Undefined 1833-1847
FS BTs Undefined 1848-1871 Undefined 1848-1871 Undefined 1848-1871
FS PRs 1837-1907 1832-1907 1832-1907 1832-1907 1835-1936 1835-1936
FS PRs Undefined 1832-1895 Undefined 1835-1867 Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1895-1909
IGI 1832-1897 1833-1900

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288782.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Wikipedia contributors, 'Trinity Centre,' in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,, accessed 28 May 2016.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,', accessed 1 December 2012.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, Bristol Life Events Parish Lists,', accessed 31 May 2016.
  5. 5.0 5.1 'FamilySearch Catalogue,' FamilySearch, accessed 1 June 2016.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Gloucester (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 May 2016.