Bristol St Augustine, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bristol

Guide to Bristol St Augustine, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol St Augustine, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Bristol
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: 1577
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Bristol Record Office

Parish History

St. Augustine's Church was a Church of England church located on Whitchurch Lane in Whitchurch, Bristol. It is currently closed.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bristol St Augustine, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[3]
FMP = Gloucestershire, Bristol parish register indexes (findmypast) (£)[4]
FS BTs= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[5]
FS PRs= England, Bristol Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
BRISTOL ST AUGUSTINE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1853-1927 1754-1906
BOYD 1663-1812
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS BTs Undefined 1663-1818 Undefined 1663-1818 Undefined 1663-1818
FS BTs Undefined 1844-1868 Undefined 1844-1868 Undefined 1844-1868
FS PRs 1837-1907 1577-1907 1848-1925 1577-1925 1844-1876 1577-1876
FS PRs 1577-1940 1577-1852 1577-1925 1577-1791 1577-1893 1577-1826
IGI 1577-1700
1577-1673


IGI 1853-1940
1674-1700


IGI
1756-1783


IGI
1784-1854


IGI
1855-1903


PALL
1813-1818

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288782.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, 'St. Augustine's Church, Whitchurch, Bristol,' in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Augustine%27s_Church,_Whitchurch,_Bristol, accessed 1 June 2016.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, Bristol Life Events Parish Lists,' findmypast.co.uk, accessed 31 May 2016.
  5. 5.0 5.1 'FamilySearch Catalogue,' FamilySearch, accessed 1 June 2016.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Gloucester (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 May 2016.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.