Bristol St Barnabas, Gloucestershire Genealogy
Guide to Bristol St Barnabas, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bristol St Barnabas, Gloucestershire|
|Hundred||Barton Regis; Bristol City|
|Poor Law Union||Bristol|
|Parish registers: 1844|
|Bishop's Transcripts: Not known|
|Diocese||Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Bristol Record Office|
Bristol St Barnabas is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Gloucestershire, created in 1843 from Bristol St Paul Ancient Parish. The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Bristol, but the exact parish has not been identified: Calvinistic Methodist, Christians, French Protestant, Jewish, Moravian/United Brethren, Presbyterian, Society of Friends/Quaker, Swedenborgian/New Jerusalem/New Church, and Unitarian.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bristol St Barnabas, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Gloucestershire, Bristol parish register indexes (findmypast) (£)|
|BRISTOL ST BARNABAS PARISH Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- 'Gloucestershire, Bristol Life Events Parish Lists,' findmypast.co.uk, accessed 31 May 2016.