Bristol St George, Brandon Hill, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bristol

Guide to Bristol St George Brandon, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol St George, Brandon Hill, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Bristol
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: 1832
Bishop's Transcripts: 1832
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Bristol Record Office

Parish History

St George's Church, Brandon Hill

St George's is a church in the Clifton area of Bristol, England.
It was built between 1821 and 1823 by Sir Robert Smirke in a Greek Revival style[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bristol St George Brandon Hill, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Gloucestershire, Bristol parish register indexes (findmypast) (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS BTs= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[4]
FS PRs(1)= England Births, Christenings, Marriages, Burials (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply). Digitisation of microfilms.[4]
BRISTOL ST GEORGE BRANDON HILL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined
FREG 1850-1854
FS BTs Undefined 1832-1869 Undefined 1833-1869 Undefined 1832-1861
FS PRs(1) Undefined 1756-1828 Undefined 1813-1823
FS PRs(1) Undefined 1824-1873 Undefined 1756-1854

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288782.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, 'St George, Brandon Hill,' in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_George,_Brandon_Hill, accessed 1 June 2016.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, Bristol Life Events Parish Lists,' findmypast.co.uk, accessed 31 May 2016.
  3. 'Somerset (including Bristol) Parish Coverage,' FreeREG, accessed 1 June 2016.
  4. 4.0 4.1 'FamilySearch Catalogue,' FamilySearch, accessed 1 June 2016.