Bristol St George, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Gloucestershire
Gloucestershire Parishes
Bristol St George

Guide to Bristol St George, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol St George, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barton Regis
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Clifton
Registration District Clifton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1759; Separate registers exist for Bristol St Mary Fishponds beginning 1836
Bishop's Transcripts: 1756; Separate records exist for Bristol St Mary Fishponds beginning 1870
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Bristol Record Office

Parish History

Bristol St George is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Gloucestershire, created in 1756 from part of Bristol St Philip and St Jacob Ancient Parish. Non-Church of England denominations identified in Bristol St George include: Baptist, Primitive Methodist, Wesleyan Methodist, Wesleyan Methodist Association, and Wesleyan Methodist Reform. The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Bristol, but the exact parish has not been identified: Calvinistic Methodist, Christians, French Protestant, Jewish, Moravian/United Brethren, Presbyterian, Society of Friends/Quaker, Swedenborgian/New Jerusalem/New Church, and Unitarian.

Other places in the parish include: Bristol St Mary Fishponds. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bristol St George, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[3]
FMP = Gloucestershire, Bristol parish register indexes (findmypast) (£)[4]
FS BTs= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[5]
BRISTOL ST GEORGE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1824-1873 1784-1854
BOYD 1755-1856
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS BTs Undefined 1756-1831 Undefined 1756-1831 Undefined 1756-1831
FS BTs Undefined 1832-1858 Undefined 1832-1858 Undefined 1832-1858

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

Add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, Bristol Life Events Parish Lists,' findmypast.co.uk, accessed 31 May 2016.
  5. 'FamilySearch Catalogue,' FamilySearch, accessed 1 June 2016.