Bristol St James, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bristol

Guide to Bristol St James, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol St James, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Bristol
Registration District Bristol
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Bristol Record Office

Parish History

Bristol St James is an Ancient Parish in the county of Gloucestershire. Methodist is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in Bristol St James. The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Bristol, but the exact parish has not been identified: Calvinistic Methodist, Christians, French Protestant, Jewish, Moravian/United Brethren, Presbyterian, Society of Friends/Quaker, Swedenborgian/New Jerusalem/New Church, and Unitarian. Other places in the parish include: Bristol St James In, Redland, and Bristol St James and St Paul Out. [1]


The Priory Church of St James, Bristol (grid reference ST588734)[2] is a Grade I listed building[1] in Horsefair, Whitson Street.

It was founded in 1129 as a Benedictine priory by Robert, Earl of Gloucester, the illegitimate son of Henry I. The nave survives from 1129 but the tower was added around 1374. The south aisle was widened and rebuilt in 1698. The porch dates from the late 18th century, and the north aisle was rebuilt in 1864.[1][2]

Legend has it that every 10th stone brought from Normandy to build the Castle was set aside to build the Priory, and therefore ‘now that the castle has vanished these stones are like an echo from 800 years ago.’[attribution needed]

The building is on the English Heritage Buildings at Risk Register and described as being in very bad condition.[3][2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bristol St James, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BAFHS = Bristol and Avon Family History Society - free[3]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[5]
FMP = Gloucestershire, Bristol parish register indexes (findmypast) (£)[6]
FS BTs= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[7]
FS PRs(1)= England Births, Christenings, Marriages, Burials (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply). Digitisation of microfilms.[7]
FS PRs(2)= England, Bristol Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply). Digitisation of original records.[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
BRISTOL ST JAMES PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BAFHS 1559-1753
BIVRI 1559-1638,
1830-1844,
1880-1911
1559-1687,
1754-1785,
1831-1872
BOYD 1679-1827
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS BTs Undefined 1676-1818, 1829-1850 Undefined 1676-1818, 1829-1850 Undefined 1676-1817, 1829-1850
FS PRs(1) Undefined 1688-1844, 1880-1922 Undefined 1688-1906 Undefined 1688-1870
FS PRs(2) 1842-1908 1559-1908 1837-1901 1559-1901 1841-1870 1559-1870
IGI 1559-1687
1754-1785


IGI
1830-1888


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288782.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_James%27_Priory,_Bristol
  3. Price, Roger. 'Marriages at St James's Church, Bristol: 1559-1753,' 2014, Bristol and Avon Family History Society website, accessed 28 May 2016.
  4. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  5. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  6. 'Gloucestershire, Bristol Life Events Parish Lists,' findmypast.co.uk, accessed 31 May 2016.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 'FamilySearch Catalogue,' FamilySearch, accessed 1 June 2016.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Gloucester (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 May 2016.