Bristol St John the Baptist, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bristol

Guide to Bristol St John the Baptist, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol St John the Baptist, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Bristol
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1675
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

The Church of St John the Baptist, Bristol is a former Church of England parish church at the lower end of Broad Street Bristol, England. Includes St John's Gate. The church is in a striking position over one of the old city gates. Founded before 1174, the present church is Perpendicular from the period 1350-1500. A conduit has supplied water from Brandon Hill since 1374. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bristol St John the Baptist, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[2]
FMP = Gloucestershire, Bristol parish register indexes (findmypast) (£)[3]
FS BTs= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[4]
BRISTOL ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1675-1810
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS BTs Undefined 1675-1842 Undefined 1675-1842 Undefined 1675-1842
FS BTs Undefined 1843-1897 Undefined 1842-1897 Undefined 1842-1897

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288782.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References