Bristol St Mary Redcliffe, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Somerset
Gloucestershire
Gloucestershire Parishes
Bristol St Mary Redcliffe

Guide to Bristol St Mary Redcliffe, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol St Mary Redcliffe, Gloucestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bristol
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559; For more records see Bedminster
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol in the Deanery of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

BRISTOL, a city and county of itself, and a considerable port, is situated near the mouth of the Bristol Channel, and between the counties of Gloucester and Somerset, into both of which the town extends. The city of Bristol comprised within its ancient limits many parishes including the parish of St. MARY REDCLIFF.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bristol St Mary Redcliffe, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[3]
FMP = Gloucestershire, Bristol parish register indexes (findmypast) (£)[4]
FS PRs= England, Bristol Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
BRISTOL ST MARY REDCLIFFE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1665-1906 1665-1906
BOYD 1621-1848
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs 1839-1907 1559-1907 1835-1914 1559-1910 1813-1900 1559-1900
FS PRs 1837-1866 1837-1866
IGI Undefined




IGI Undefined




IGI Undefined




IGI Undefined




Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288785.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/GLS/Bristol/StMaryRedcliffe/index.html

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 14 September 2013.
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, Bristol Life Events Parish Lists,' findmypast.co.uk, accessed 31 May 2016.
  5. 'FamilySearch Catalogue,' FamilySearch, accessed 1 June 2016.
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Gloucester (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 May 2016.