Bristol St Mary le Port, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bristol

Guide to Bristol St Mary le Port, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol St Mary le Port, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Bristol
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: Destroyed
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Bristol Record Office

Parish History

St Mary le Port is a ruined parish church in the centre of Bristol, England.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bristol St Mary le Port, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[2]
FS BTs(1)= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply). Digitization of microfilm.[3]
FS BTs(2)= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply). Digitization of original records.[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
BRISTOL ST MARY LE PORT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1585-1812
FS BTs(1) Undefined 1669-1867 Undefined 1669-1867 Undefined 1669-1867
FS BTs(2) 1669-1867 1669-1867 1669-1866
IGI 1561-1654



To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288783.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Mary_le_Port_Church,_Bristol
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'FamilySearch Catalogue,' FamilySearch, accessed 1 June 2016.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Gloucester (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 May 2016.