Bristol St Michael and All Angels, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bristol

Guide to Briston St Michael and All Angels, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol St Michael and All Angels, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Bristol
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610; 1665
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

Bristol St Michael and All Angels is an Ancient Parish in the county of Gloucestershire. Other places in the parish include: Bristol All Angels. The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Bristol, but the exact parish has not been identified: Calvinistic Methodist, Christians, French Protestant, Jewish, Moravian/United Brethren, Presbyterian, Society of Friends/Quaker, Swedenborgian/New Jerusalem/New Church, and Unitarian. [1]

Also known as St Michael the Archangel on the Mount.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bristol St Michael, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[3]
FMP = Gloucestershire, Bristol parish register indexes (findmypast) (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FS BTs(1)= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply). Digitization of microfilms.[6]
FS BTs(2)= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply). Digitization of original records.[6]
FS PRs= England, Bristol Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
BRISTOL ST MICHAEL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1610-1870 1610-1870
BOYD 1665-1812
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined
FREG 1850-1882
FS BTs(1) Undefined 1610, 1665-1812 Undefined 1610, 1665-1812 Undefined 1610, 1665-1812
FS BTs(1) Undefined 1813-1870 Undefined 1813-1870 Undefined 1813-1860
FS BTs(2) 1610-1870 1610-1870 1610-1870
FS PRs 1840-1902 1653-1907 1837-1907 1653-1907 1835-1936 1852-1865
FS PRs Undefined 1653-1813 Undefined 1653-1813 Undefined 1653-1813
FS PRs Undefined 1806-1864 Undefined 1806-1812 Undefined 1806-1812
IGI 1600s
1813-1870


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288783.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, Bristol Life Events Parish Lists,' findmypast.co.uk, accessed 31 May 2016.
  5. 'Somerset (including Bristol) Parish Coverage,' FreeREG, accessed 1 June 2016.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 'FamilySearch Catalogue,' FamilySearch, accessed 1 June 2016.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Gloucester (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 May 2016.