Bristol St Nicholas with St Leonard, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Gloucestershire
Gloucestershire Parishes
Bristol St Nicholas with St Leonard

Guide to Bristol St Nicholas with St Leonard, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol St Nicholas with St Leonard, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Bristol
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

Bristol St Nicholas with St Leonard is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Gloucestershire, created in 1766 from Bristol St Nicholas Ancient Parish and Bristol St Leonard Ancient Parish.

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Bristol, but the exact parish has not been identified: Baptist, Calvinistic Methodist, Christians, Countess of Huntingdon Methodist, French Protestant, Jewish, Methodist, Moravian/United Brethren, Presbyterian, Society of Friends/Quaker, Swedenborgian/New Jerusalem/New Church, Unitarian, and Wesleyan Methodist.

Other places in the parish include: Bristol St Leonard. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bristol St Leonard, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[2]
FMP = Gloucestershire, Bristol parish register indexes (findmypast) (£)[3]
FS BTs(1)= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply). Digitisation of microfilm.[4]
FS BTs(2)= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply). Digitisation of original records.[4]
FS PRs(1)= England Births, Christenings, Marriages, Burials (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply). Digitisation of microfilm.[4]
FS PRs(2)= England, Bristol Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply). Digitisation of original records.[4]
BRISTOL ST LEONARD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1674-1765
FS BTs(1) Undefined 1674-1767 Undefined 1674-1767 Undefined 1674-1767
FS BTs(2) 1674-1768 1674-1768 1674-1768

Bristol St Nicholas, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BRISTOL ST NICHOLAS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1672-1812
FMP Undefined Undefined
FS BTs(2) Undefined 1670-1881 Undefined 1670-1859 Undefined 1670-1854
FS BTs(2) Undefined 1880-1907 Undefined 1863-1906 Undefined 1872
FS PRs(1) Undefined 1878-1900 Undefined 1754-1859
FS PRs(1) Undefined Undefined 1859-1904 Undefined 1813-1872
FS PRs(2) 1876-1907 1538-1907 1754-1765, 1859-1920 1538-1920 1538-1872

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://maps.familysearch.org/
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, Bristol Life Events Parish Lists,' findmypast.co.uk, accessed 31 May 2016.
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 'FamilySearch Catalogue,' FamilySearch, accessed 1 June 2016.