Bristol St Phillip and St Jacob, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bristol

Guide to Bristol St Phillip and St Jacob, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bristol St Phillip and St Jacob, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barton Regis; Bristol City
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Bristol
Registration District Bristol; Clifton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1576
Bishop's Transcripts: 1679
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory); Records of orphans of Bristol Freemen 1379-1674 may also appear in ""The Great Orphan Books"" kept for the Mayor of Bristol
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

St. Philip and  St. Jacob Church, commonly referred to as Pip 'n' Jay, is a parish church in central Bristol, England. Its full name since 1934 is St Philip and St Jacob with Emmanuel the Unity, although reference to the original church of St Philip[disambiguation needed] exists in records dating from 1174. Historically the 'Mother church of East Bristol', it serves the area known as The Dings.

The building

Pip 'n' Jay refers to itself as the city's 'oldest place of Christian worship'. The church began as a small priory around AD 900.

The church today

Since 1963, Pip 'n' Jay has become one of the leading Evangelical churches in Bristol.

The parish

St Philip and Jacob is one of the original parishes of Bristol. It includes the Old Market area, and extended beyond the original city boundaries to include what are now the Bristol districts of Baptist Mills, Barton Hill, Lawrence Hill, Newtown, Russell Town, St Jude’s, St Philips Marsh, The Dings and part of Easton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bristol St Phillip and St Jacob, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[3]
FMP = Gloucestershire, Bristol parish register indexes (findmypast) (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FS BTs= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[6]
FS PRs(1)= England Births, Christenings, Marriages, Burials (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply). Digitisation of microfilms.[6]
FS PRs(2)= England, Bristol Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply). Digitisation of original records.[6]
BRISTOL ST PHILIP AND ST JACOB PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1878-1899 1754-1889
BOYD 1674-1861
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined
FREG 1838-1902 1876 1838-1904
FS BTs Undefined 1679-1852 Undefined 1679-1852 Undefined 1679-1852
FS PRs(1) Undefined 1699-1899 Undefined 1699-1900 Undefined 1699-1832
FS PRs(2) 1837-1905 1576-1907 1832-1905 1576-1912 1838-1890 1576-1890

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288784.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Philip_and_Jacob,_Bristol
  2. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, Bristol Life Events Parish Lists,' findmypast.co.uk, accessed 31 May 2016.
  5. 'Somerset (including Bristol) Parish Coverage,' FreeREG, accessed 1 June 2016.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 'FamilySearch Catalogue,' FamilySearch, accessed 1 June 2016.