Bristol Temple, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bristol Temple, Somerset)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bristol

Guide to Bristol Temple, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Bristol Temple, Gloucestershire
Temple Church Bristol .jpg
Temple Church Bristol
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bristol City
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Bristol
Registration District Bristol
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1671
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol in the Deanery of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Bristol Record Office

Parish History

BRISTOL, a city and county of itself, and a considerable port, is situated near the mouth of the Bristol Channel, and between the counties of Gloucester and Somerset, into both of which the town extends. The city comprised within its ancient limits many parishes including TEMPLE parish or HOLY CROSS.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bristol Temple, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BAFHS = Bristol and Avon Family History Society - free[2]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[4]
FMP = Gloucestershire, Bristol parish register indexes (findmypast) (£)[5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS BTs= England, Bristol Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply)[7]
FS PRs(1)= England Births, Christenings, Marriages, Burials (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply). Digitisation of microfilms.[7]
FS PRs(2)= England, Bristol Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free (some restrictions may apply). Digitisation of original records.[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
BRISTOL TEMPLE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BAFHS 1558-1753
BIVRI 1671-1902 1819-1906
BOYD 1671-1812
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined
FREG 1849 1834-1838, 1849
FS BTs 1671-1868 1671-1868 1671-1854
FS PRs(1) 1559-1785 1559-1710 1559-1785
FS PRs(1) 1754-1842
FS PRs(1) 1842-1880
FS PRs(2) 1837-1843, 1853-1902 1559-1902 1813-1916 1559-1916 1841-1854, 1870, 1877 1559-1877
IGI
1819-1844


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474594.


Poor Law Unions

Bristol Poor Law Unions,England

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/GLS/Bristol/Temple/index.html

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 14 September 2013.
  2. Price, Roger. 'Marriages at Temple Church, Bristol, 1558-1753,' 2012, Bristol and Avon Family History Society website, accessed 28 May 2016.
  3. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 1 December 2012.
  4. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, Bristol Life Events Parish Lists,' findmypast.co.uk, accessed 31 May 2016.
  6. 'Somerset (including Bristol) Parish Coverage,' FreeREG, accessed 1 June 2016.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 'FamilySearch Catalogue,' FamilySearch, accessed 1 June 2016.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Gloucester (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 May 2016.