British Indian Ocean Territory Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Asia Gotoarrow.png British Indian Ocean Territory

British Indian Ocean Territory Wiki Topics
Flag of the British Indian Ocean Territory.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
BIOT Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to British Indian Ocean Territory ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) is a British colony in the Indian Ocean half way between Africa and Indonesia. Formerly part of Mauritius and split off for military puposes (the base at Diego Garcia) in 1965. Mauritius still claims these islands and her claim is recognized by the United Nations. The official language is English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with British Indian Ocean Territory Research

Links to articles on getting started with British Indian Ocean Territory research.

British Indian Ocean Territory Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in British Indian Ocean Territory research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

British Indian Ocean Territory Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in British Indian Ocean Territory.
British Indian Ocean Territory Map.png

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. World Factbook, https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/io.html