Brixworth, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Brixworth, Northamptonshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Gotoarrow.png Northamptonshire Parishes

Guide to Brixworth, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brixworth, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Orlingbury
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Brixworth
Registration District Brixworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1546
Bishop's Transcripts: 1706
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rothwell
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History

BRIXWORTH (All Saints), a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Orlingbury, N. division of the county of Northampton, 6 miles (N.) from Northampton. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brixworth, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
Brixworth, Northamptonshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1835 1813-1835
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912
FREG 1798-1837

The parish registers survive from 1546 and, apart from the volumes currently in use, are kept at Northamptonshire Record Office.

Rev James Jackson, who was vicar of the parish for 35 years starting in 1735, compiled an index to Brixworth families from the commencement of the registers. This work was largely arranged by families and included information from his personal knowledge as well as entries from the registers. Only a few entries were added after Jackson died in 1770. The index therefore includes extensive information about the origins and destinations of people who arrived at or migrated from Brixworth during the early and middle parts of the 18th century. This manuscript is also kept at NRO, where its reference is "ML 380". Further details of this source appear in ”Brixworth – An 18th Century Parish Register Analysis” by Francis Howcutt

Marriages from 1629 to 1700 are indexed in Northamptonshire Marriage Index Pre-1700 (2nd ed.). FHL British CD-ROM no. 5489; publisher's bookstore.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438879.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Howcutt, Francis.  The Howcutt Family At Brixworth.  Family history of Thomas Howcutt 1776-1844 and Elizabeth Martin and descendants, with some of the family at Spratton, and Sussex Lavington, and London. Article dated from 1776-1851, with the following surnames, Adnitt, Sykes, Moody, Allen Jeacock, and Clay.  Article in Footprints, Northamptonshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol.5.no.2. page 42-44. Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol.5.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Brixworth History Society

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 23 February 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 7 April 2015.
  4. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.