Broad Town, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Broad Town, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Broad Town

Guide to Broad Town, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Broad Town, Wiltshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kingsbridge
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Cricklade and Wootton Bassett
Registration District Cricklade; Marlborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: 1847
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Avebury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

BROAD-TOWN, a hamlet in Broad-Hinton parish, and a chapelry in Broad-Hinton and Cliffe-Pypard parishes, Wiltshire. The hamlet lies 1¼ mile NW of BroadHinton village, and 3 SE of Wootton-Basset railway station. The chapelry includes the hamlet; and was constituted in 1846.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464197.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72 Date accessed 12 January 2014.