Brockmoor, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Brockmoor, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Stourbridge|
|Parish registers: None|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
BROCKMOOR, an ecclesiastical parish, in the parish of King's Swinford, union of Stourbridge, N. division of the hundred of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford, 2½ miles (S. W.) from Dudley. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Brookmoor St John was established in 1844/45 and parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free FREG - Search under Kingswinford|
|BROOKMOOR ST JOHN (1845) Online Records|
Dudley Archives has deposited Parish registers Bap 1845-1967 Marr 1846-1968 Bur 1845-1966 and microfilmed Bap 1845-1938 Marr 1846-1932 Bur 1845-1934
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474624.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.