Brookthorpe, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Brookthorpe, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brookthorpe, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dudstone and King's Barton
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Wheatenhurst
Registration District Wheatenhurst
Records begin
Parish registers: 1730
Bishop's Transcripts: 1569
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gloucester
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

BROCKTHROP (St. Swithin), a parish, in the union of Wheatenhurst, Middle division of the hundred of Dudstone and King's Barton, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 4 miles (S. E.) from Gloucester. This place is situated on the road between Gloucester and Stroud, and near the head of a small stream which falls into the Severn. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brookthorpe, Gloucestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) (£)[6]
FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)[7]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
BROOKTHORPE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1569-1813 1569-1813 1569-1753 1569-1753 1569-1813 1569-1813
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1757-1938 1757-1938 1813-1988 1813-1988
BOYD 1617-1812
FHSO 1800-1835
FREG 1617-1812
JOIN

1617-1812


PALL
1790-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288769.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

The 1327, 1557/8, and 1584 subsidies are online:

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

Add any additional sites that aren’t mentioned above.


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 392-395. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 24 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 5 July 2016.
  6. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 1 December 2012.
  7. 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
  8. 'Gloucestershire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 18 April 2014.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  10. J. Melland Hall, 'Brockthorp Taxpayers, 1327-1584,' in Beaver H. Blacker, ed., Gloucestershire Notes and Queries, Vol. 3 (1887):92-93. Digitised by Internet Archive - free.