Brough under Stainmore, Westmorland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Westmorland
Westmorland Parishes
Brough under Stainmore


Guide to Brough under Stainmore, Westmorland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Brough under Stainmore, Westmorland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Westmorland
Poor Law Union East Ward
Registration District East Ward
Records begin
Parish registers: 1556
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Westmorland
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Westmorland Record Office

Parish History

BROUGH, or BURG, under Stainmoor (St.Michael), a parish, in East ward and union, county of Westmorland; comprising the townships of Brough,Brough-Sowerby, and Hilbeck, and the chapelry of Stainmoor or Stainmore. The parish was formerly a chapelry in Kirkby Stephen. The Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans have places of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brough under Stainmore, Westmorland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
PRTs = Parish Register Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[4]
BROUGH UNDER STAINMORE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

PRTs 1556-1812 1556-1812 1556-1812
TGEN 1559-1812
1560-1812
1556-1812


Census records

In December 1787 the Westmorland Court of Quarter Sessions commissioned a population survey of the county. Parish constables were ordered to send in returns listing the names and occupations of the members of every household in their constablewick. This census is found in Vital Statistics, The Westmorland "Census' of 1787. This book is available at the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah. The library call number is British Ref. Area 942.88 X2v.


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 405-409. Date accessed: 16 July 2012.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 19 January 2016.
  4. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.