Broughton, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Broughton, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Gotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Broughton, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. For other places with the same name see Broughton
Broughton, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bloxham
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Banbury
Registration District Banbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1683
Bishop's Transcripts: 1680; 1722
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Deddington
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

BROUGHTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Banbury, hundred of Bloxham, county of Oxford, 2 miles (W. S. W.) from Banbury. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Broughton, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Broughton, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1680-1850


OFHS 1683-1991
1688-2001
1683-2003


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474572.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 409-412. Date accessed: 14 September 2012.
  2. 'Dorset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.