Brown County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Brown County, Kansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Kansas Gotoarrow.png Brown County

Guide to Brown County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Hiawatha
Organized: August 30, 1855
Parent County(s): Original county [1]
Neighboring Counties
Atchison  • Doniphan  • Holt (MO)  • Jackson  • Nemaha  • Richardson (NE)
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasBrownCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Brown County svg.bmp
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Brown County Courthouse
601 Oregon Street
Hiawatha, Kansas 66434
Phone: 785.742.2581
Brown County Website

Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1800’s and marriage records.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1857. [1]

Brown County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1885 1857 1885 1857 1857

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1855--Brown County was created 30 August 1855 as an original county.
  • County seat: Hiawatha [1]

Populated Places

The following are locations in Brown County, Kansas:

Indian Reservation

The Kickapoo Indian Reservation is located within the boundaries of Brown County.

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Brown County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Kansas Territory was enumerated in 1860, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. [3] See links listed below.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court Records

Old Brown County Courthouse

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Brown County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps and Gazetteers

Ksbrown.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Brown County, Kansas Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:

Military Records

Civil War

Soldiers from Brown County enlisted in:

  • 1st Regiment, Companies A and B
  • 2nd Infantry Regiment, Companies Dand G
  • 2nd Cavalry Regiment, Company I
  • 5th Cavalry Regiment, Companies G and L
  • 7th Regiment, Companies A, C, H, and I
  • 8th Regiment, Companies C and D
  • 9th Regiment, Company A
  • 11th Regiment, Company F
  • 13th Regiment, Companies A, B, E, G, H, I
  • 14th Cavalry Regiment , Companies A, H, L, K
  • 16th Cavalry Regiment ,  Companies A, C, and K
  • Nebraska 2nd Cavalry Regiment, Companies G and L
  • Missouri Regiments 5 and 25

All regiments are Kansas Infantry unless otherwise indicated.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Brown County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Brown and click Probate records.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Brown County Genealogical Society 116 South 7th Street
Hiawatha, Kansas 66434-2307
E-mail: brcogenealogy@yahoo.com

Brown County Historical Society
611 Utah St
Hiawatha, KS 66434
Telephone Number: 785-742-3330
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Brown County, Kansas. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  3. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.
  4. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  5. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  6. National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).