Bryan County, Oklahoma Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bryan County, Oklahoma)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma Gotoarrow.png Bryan County

Bryan County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Bryan County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded July 16, 1907
County Seat Durant
Courthouse
OklahomaBryanCourthouse.jpg
Address Blaine County Courthouse
402 W. Evergreen Street
Durant, Oklahoma 74701-4703
Phone: 580.924.1446


Bryan County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

{{{link}}}

County Information

Bryan County, Oklahoma Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1908 1902 1907 1903 1902

County Courthouse

Blaine County Courthouse
212 N Weigle Avenue
Watonga, OK 73772
Phone: 580.623.5890 

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1892;
County Clerk has land records from 1892[1]

History

Parent County

1907--Bryan County was created 16 July 1907 from Choctaw Lands.
County seat: Durant [2]

Description

Named for Democratic presidential candidate William Jennings Bryan, a contributor to the 1907 Oklahoma Constitution, Bryan County is located in the south-central portion of the state. [3] Its county seat is Durant. [4]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Oklahoma County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oklahoma County Boundary Maps" (1819-1912) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[5]

City
  • Durant (county seat)
Towns
  • Achille
  • Armstrong
  • Bennington
  • Bokchito
  • Caddo
  • Calera
  • Colbert
  • Hendrix
  • Kemp
  • Kenefic
  • Mead
  • Silo
Census-designated places
  • Albany
  • Blue
  • Cartwright
Unincorporated communities
  • Allison
  • Banty
  • Brown
  • Cade
  • Cobb
  • Kiersey
  • Platter
  • Romia
  • Roberta
  • Utica
  • Yarnaby
  • Yuba

Neighboring Counties

Resources

American Indians

Census

Land and Property

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
OKGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
USGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Oklahoma Gravestones
Oklahoma Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Oklahoma Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 29,854
1920 40,700 36.3%
1930 32,277 −20.7%
1940 38,138 18.2%
1950 28,999 −24.0%
1960 24,252 −16.4%
1970 25,552 5.4%
1980 30,535 19.5%
1990 32,089 5.1%
2000 36,534 13.9%
2010 42,416 16.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Bryan County, Oklahoma Genealogy census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Oklahoma starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Oklahoma Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

For more information see Oklahoma Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bryan County, Oklahoma Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps

Okbryan.jpg

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI
WWII

Newspapers

Oklahoma Newspapers Online

Oklahoma Newspaper Catalogs

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bryan County, Oklahoma Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has The Paris News (Paris, TX) from 1925 that may include residents from Bryan County.

Probate

In most counties in Oklahoma, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Oklahoma - Bryan - Probate records.

Online Records

School Records


Taxation

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

See also How to order Oklahoma Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oklahoma Birth Certificate or Death Certificate Applications to mail.

Births

Online Birth Records Indexes and Images

Marriages

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Deaths

Online Death Records Indexes and Images

Divorces

Online Divorce Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

Bryan County Heritage Assn.
203 North McKinley
PO Box 153
Calera 74730-0153
Telephone: 580-434-5848
Website

Bryan County Heritage Society
618 N. 19th Street
Durant 74701


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bryan County, Oklahoma. Page 557 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/oka/bryan/ accessed 09/29/2016
  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bryan_County,_Oklahoma accessed 09/29/2016
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Bryan County, Oklahoma," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bryan_County,_Oklahoma, accessed 5 August 2016.