Buchanan County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Buchanan County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Missouri go to Buchanan County

Guide to Buchanan County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Buchanan County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 31, 1838
County Seat St. Joseph
Courthouse
MissouriBuchananCourthouse.jpg
Address Buchanan County Courthouse
5th and Jules
St. Joseph, MO 64501
Phone: 816.271.1412
Buchanan County Website


County Information

Buchanan County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1839 1883 1830 1839 1839

County Courthouse

Register of Deeds has marriage records; Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce records; Probate Judge has probate records; Magistrate Court has court records; County Assessor has land records.[2]

History

Buchanan County was added to the state of Missouri with the Platte Purchase, finalized in the year 1837. Prior to that it was part of the Indian lands and only a few white settlers and fur trappers occupied the region.

Parent County

1838 Buchanan County was created 31 December 1838 from the Platte Purchase. When originally formed in 1838, the county was named Roberts County, after settler Hiram Roberts; it was renamed in 1839 for James Buchanan, then a U.S. Senator and later President of the United States. County seat: St. Joseph [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Andrew  • Atchison County, Kansas  • Clinton  • Dekalb  • Doniphan County, Kansas  • Platte

Buchanan CountyClinton CountyAndrew CountyDeKalb CountyDaviess CountyRay CountyClay CountyCaldwell CountyPlatte CountyHolt CountyJackson CountyBrown CountyNemaha CountyJackson CountyJackson CountyShawnee CountyJefferson CountyLeavenworth CountyWyandotte CountyAtchison CountyMOBuchanan1.JPG



Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MOGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MOGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MOInterment
MNGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Buchanan County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Cathedral, St. Joseph

  • 1856 - 1876 Cathedral, St. Joseph, Baptism Index 1856-1876. Batch C511741 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1846 - 1876 Cathedral, St. Joseph, Marriage Index 1846-1876. Batch M511621 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Immaculate Conception, St. Joseph

  • 1860 - 1876 Immaculate Conception, St. Joseph, Baptism Index 1860-1876. Batch C511731 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1860 - 1885 Immaculate Conception, St. Joseph, Marriage Index 1860-1885. Batch M511731 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

St. Joseph's, Easton

  • 1868 - 1876 St. Joseph's, Easton, Baptism Index 1868-1876. Batch C511571 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1868 - 1885 St. Joseph's, Easton, Marriage Index 1868-1885. Batch M511571 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

St. Patrick's, St. Joseph

  • 1869 - 1876 St. Patrick's, St. Joseph, Baptism Index 1869-1876. Batch C511751 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1869 - 1885 St. Patrick's, St. Joseph, Marriage Index 1869-1885. Batch M511751 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • St. Joseph
German

Kesler Settlement, German Congregation

  • 1847 - 1876 Kesler Settlement, German Congregation, Baptism Index 1847-1876. Batch C511921 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Lutheran

St. Joseph's Lutheran Church

  • Records of St. Joseph's Lutheran Church in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[5]

City Directories

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Deed records are available from 1839 to the present.  They are archived at the Recorder of Deeds Office in the Courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Buchanan County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

A Portrait and biographical record of Buchanan and Clinton counties, Missouri containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens... (1893) is available online free from Google Books. The first part of the book contains biographies of the U.S. presidents. The second part, starting on p.111, contains biographies Buchanan and Clinton county residents.

  • Buchanan County, Missouri History at Ancestry.com ($)
  • Hodges, Nadine. Abstracts of wills and administrations from books "A" and "B", 1839-1857.Kansas City, Missouri : Hodges & Woodruff, 1969.
  • Rutt, Christian Ludwig. The Daily News' history of Buchanan County and St. Joseph, Mo., from the time of the Platte Purchase to the end of the year 1898, : preceeded by a short history of Missouri, supplemented by biographical sketches. [St. Joseph, Missouri] : St. Joseph Pub. Co., [1898].
  • History of Buchanan County and St. Joseph, Mo. : from the time of the Platte Purchase to...1915, preceded by a short history of Missouri, supplemented by biographical sketches. St. Joseph, Missouri : History Pub. Co., [1915?].

Maps

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Buchanan County, Missouri for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments
Service men in Buchanan County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Buchanan County, Missouri"

- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 12th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company C
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company G
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 13th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 25th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 25th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 25th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 25th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
- 25th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 25th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 25th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company I
- 25th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 33rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 33rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 35th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
- 35th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company E
- 35th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
- 3rd Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company A
- 3rd Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company B
- 3rd Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company C
- 3rd Battalion, Enrolled Missouri Milita (Union), Company D
- Kimball's Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia 6 months (Union), Company D
- Kimball's Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia 6 months (Union), Company E
- 1st Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company L
- 25th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 25th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 25th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 25th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 25th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 25th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 25th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 25th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 25th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 25th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company L
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 3rd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 3rd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 3rd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company M
- 41st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 41st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 41st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 41st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 41st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 41st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 41st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 41st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
- 4th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 4th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 4th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company C
- 4th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D
- 4th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 4th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 4th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company G
- 4th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company K
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company B
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company E
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company G
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company I
- 5th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company K
- 9th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company M
- 25th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
- 36th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Buchanan County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Census Records

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Buchanan County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Buchanan County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Buchanan Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Buchanan County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Buchanan County, Missouri Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "missouri" in the search box to see a list and links to Missouri Blogs
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
Ancestry.com Buchanan County Message Board

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Buchanan County, Missouri. Page 398 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.00 4.01 4.02 4.03 4.04 4.05 4.06 4.07 4.08 4.09 4.10 4.11 4.12 4.13 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.
  5. "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
  6. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map I" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap1.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://www.octa-trails.org/learn/virtual-trail (accessed 20 August 2016).
  8. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).