Buckhurst Hill, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Buckhurst Hill, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Buckhurst Hill, Essex|
Buckhurst Hill St John the Baptist Essex
|Poor Law Union||Epping|
|Parish registers: 1837; For more records see Chigwell|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1837|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
BUCKHURST, is a chapelry in Chigwell and Loughton parishes, Essex; on the Eastern Counties railway, it is adjacent to Epping forest, 9¾ miles NE of Bishopsgate, London. It has a station, by the name of Buckhurst Hill, on the railway, and a post office, by the name of the name of Buckhurst under Woodford, London, N. E. There is an Independent chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Buckhurst Hill St John the Baptist Parish
Buckhurst Hill St Stephen Parish
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241374.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
Buckhurst Hill on GENUKI