Buckland in the Moor, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Buckland in the Moor, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Buckland in the Moor, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Newton Abbot|
|Registration District||Newton Abbot|
|Parish registers: 1692; For more records see Ashburton|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1624|
|Probate Court||A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
BUCKLAND-in-the-Moor, a parish, in the union of Newton-Abbot, hundred of Haytor, Teignbridge and S. divisions of Devon, 3 miles (N. W.) from Ashburton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Society of Friends/Quaker
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241314.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Buckland in the Moor on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 420-424. Date accessed: 25 October 2013.