Buffalo County, South Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png South Dakota Gotoarrow.png Buffalo County

Guide to Buffalo County, South Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Buffalo County Courthouse
PO Box 148
Gann Valley, SD 57341-0148
Phone: 605.293.3234

Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1905, burial records from 1941 and land records;
County Treasurer has marriage records from 1887;
County Clerk has divorce records from 1915, probate and court records from 1885[1]

Buffalo County, South Dakota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1887 1885 1884 1870

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

1864--Buffalo County was created 6 January 1864 from Brugier County was Eliminated 6 Jan 1864, and Charles Mix Counties, and unorganized territory.
County seat: Gann Valley [2]

Populated Places

Indian Reservation

A portion of the Crow Creek Indian Reservation is located in Buffalo County. The remaining part is in Hyde County.


{{{link}}}
County Facts
Organized: January 6, 1864
County seat: Gann Valley
Parent County(s): Brugier and Charles Mix[2]
Variant Spellings: {{{variant spellings}}}
Neighboring Counties
Brule  • Hand  • Hyde  • Jerauld  • Lyman
See County Maps
Courthouse
SouthDakotaBuffaloCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
SD-buffalo.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Sdgwlogo2.gif This page adopted by:
SDGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Buffalo Co. SDGenWeb
Adopt a page today

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Buffalo County, South Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

1905, 1915, 1925, 1935, and 1945 censuses may include unique information: Ethnic Background, Maiden Name, Church Affiliation and Military Service

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Buffalo County, South Dakota Genealogy. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Migration

Military Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Buffalo County, South Dakota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Buffalo then click Probate records.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Buffalo County, South Dakota, p.622
  2. 2.0 2.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).