Bullington, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bullington, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Bullington, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bullington, Lincolnshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wraggoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Goltho
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wraggoe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

BULLINGTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Goltho, W. division of the wapentake of Wraggoe, parts of Lindsey, union and county of Lincoln, 2¾ miles (W.) from Wragby; containing 52 inhabitants. [1]

The Ancient Priory of Gilbertine monks had a chapel (St James) which served the parish.

After dissolution of the monasteries the priory church fell into ruin.

Bullington was a chapelry of Goltho, Lincolnshire and the registers of that parish should be searched.

A Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built in 1878

Bullington is a village and civil parish about 8 miles North East of Lincoln.

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the North East sub-district in Lincoln registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

 Goltho, Lincolnshire

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the FamilySearch CatalogueBullington

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438764.


Poor Law Unions

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Bullington/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 428-431. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.