Bungay St Mary, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Bungay St Mary, Suffolk)
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Suffolk
Suffolk Parishes
Bungay St Mary
Guide to Bungay St Mary, Suffolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bungay St Mary, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wangford
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Wangford
Registration District Wangford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wangford
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Parish History

BUNGAY, a market-town, in the union and hundred of Wangford, E. division of Suffolk, 40 miles (N. N. E.) from Ipswich, 40 (N. E. by E.) from Bury St. Edmund's, and 109 (N. E. by N.) from London, on the road to Yarmouth. Bungay comprises the parishes of St. Mary and the Holy Trinity. There are places of worship for Wesleyans, Independents, and Roman Catholics. [1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres. Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Bungay was in Wangford district. To search an index of Wangford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article provides more details about these records. Civil Registration began in 1837.

Church records

Bungay St Mary, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[3][4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
Bungay St Mary, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1558-1752

FMP 1558-1900
IGI 1813-1837 1813-1837
NBI

1558-1901
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Cemetery: Municipal

Census records

There are census records available for Bungay from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Bungay Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.

Genealogy

Trenor, Sandra. An Unremarkable Man - An Extraordinary Family. History and Family Tree of Stephen Stearman and Ann nee Olly, with the following surnames. Sturman, Meake, Barnes, Woodcock, Terry, Miller, Matthews. Article shows family in Suffolk, Shoreham, Walton on the Hill, Surrey, and Middlesex. Article dates from 1724-1993, and is found in The Norfolk Ancestor, vol. 6, pt. 2, June 2009, pages 107-110, Family History Library Ref. 942.61 B2j, vol 6 pt. 2. June 2009.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 431-437. Date accessed: 23 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Suffolk Baptism Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  4. 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911 Place Index', findmypast, accessed 30 December 2015. Ambiguously described as 'Bungay.'
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.