Burke County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia


Burke County

Guide to Burke County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Burke County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Burke County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded February 5, 1777
County Seat Waynesboro
Courthouse
Address Burke County Courthouse
111 E 6th Street
PO Box 89
Waynesboro, GA 30830
Phone: 706.554.2324
Burke County Website


County Information

Burke County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Burke County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1927
1855
1927
1790
1843
1856


County Courthouse

Burke County Courthouse
111 East 6th Street
Waynesboro, GA 30830
Phone: 706.554.2324

Probate Court has birth and death records from 1927, marriage and probate records from 1856.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
P.O. Box 803
111 E. 6th St.
Waynesboro, GA 30830
Phone: (706) 554-2279
Fax: (706) 554-7887

Probate Court of Burke County
P.O. Box 322
Waynesboro, GA 30830
Phone: 706-554-3000

History

Parent County

1777--Burke County was created 5 February 1777 from St. George Parish.  County seat: Waynesboro [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1825 The courthouse was burned in 1825.

1856 The courthouse in Waynesboro burned to the ground in the early morning of 24 January, including most county records.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Aiken County  • Allendale County  • Barnwell County  • Emanuel County  • Jefferson County  • Jenkins County  • Richmond County  • Screven County

Burke CountyJenkins CountyJenkins CountyEffingham CountyBurke CountyScreven CountyEmanuel CountyJefferson CountyJohnson CountyJohnson CountyLaurens CountyWashington CountyGlascock CountyHancock CountyWarren CountyTaliaferro CountyMcDuffie CountyRichmond CountyColumbia CountyAiken CountyBarnwell CountyAllendale CountyHampton CountyJasper CountyColleton CountyBamberg CountyOrangeburg CountyGABurke.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
GAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
GAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Georgia Interment
Billion Graves
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Mailing Lists
Message Boards
Periodicals

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Burke County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gaburke.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

RecordSearch|1932397|Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865}} at FamilySearch — index

Regiments. Service men in Burke County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Burke County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 2nd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- 3rd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 3rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 32nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and K
- 48th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- Military - Civil War - Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in Burke County.

Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Burke County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

      1798 Burke County Slaveholders, First and Second Districts Georgia Pioneers

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Burke County Genealogical Society
536 Liberty St.,
Waynesboro, Georgia, 30830

Burke County, Georgia Genealogical And Historical Society Facebook page

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Burke County, Georgia. Page 152 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 16-17. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Burke_County,_Georgia_Genealogy&oldid=2752921"