Burke County, North Dakota Genealogy
Guide to Burke County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Cemeteries
- 2.2 Census Records
- 2.3 Church Records
- 2.4 Court Records
- 2.5 Directories
- 2.6 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.7 Land and Property Records
- 2.8 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.9 Local History
- 2.10 Migration
- 2.11 Military Records
- 2.12 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.13 Newspapers
- 2.14 Obituaries
- 2.15 Other Records
- 2.16 Periodicals
- 2.17 Probate Records
- 2.18 School Records
- 2.19 Tax Records
- 2.20 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
Named for Gov. John Burke. Government organized: July 15, 1910. County Seat: Bowbells.
Burke County Courthouse
103 Main Street SW
PO Box 219
Bowbells, ND 5821-0219
Burke County Website
Clerk District Court has birth records from 1905, marriage, death,
burial, divorce, probate and court records from 1910, land records
from 1900 and homestead patents from 1903
Burke County, North Dakota Record Dates
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
The following are locations in the county
State Census Records
- 1885 Dakota Territory 1885 Census Index at NDSU Archives – index only
- 1885, 1915, 1925 North Dakota, Territorial and State Censuses, 1885, 1915, 1925 at Ancestry.com – ($), index and images
- 1915 North Dakota Census, 1915 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images
- 1925 North Dakota Census, 1925 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images
Federal Census Records
Federal Censuses were taken for North Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.
- Burke County Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.
Emigration and Immigration
Land and Property Records
Online Land Records
- Burke County BLM Land Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1861 - 1936 - U.S. Homestead Records 1861-1936 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
For more information see North Dakota Land and Property
Maps and Gazetteers
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of North Dakota - shows boundary changes for North Dakota Counties
- North Dakota Maps at NDGenWeb -historical maps
- 1861-1865 - Dakota Territory Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.
- 1890 - United States Census of Union Veterans and Widows of the Civil War, 1890 at FamilySearch.
World War I
- 1917-1918 - North Dakota Military Men 1917-1918 at Ancestry ($)
- 1917-1918 - Roster of the men and women who served in the army or naval service (including the Marine Corps) of the United States or its allies from the state of North Dakota in the World War, 1917-1918, Vols. 1-4 at Ancestry ($)
- World War I Casualties, Burke County (Genealogy Trails)
World War II
- World War II Army Casualties, Burke County (Genealogy Trails)
- World War II Navy Casualties, Burke County (Genealogy Trails)
- Korean War Casualties, Burke County (Genealogy Trails)
- Vietnam War Casualties, Burke County (Genealogy Trails)
For further information see North Dakota Military Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- North Dakota Naturalization Records Index at NDSU Archives – index only, covers various dates and counties
North Dakota Newspapers Online
- GenealogyBank - ($), contains images of North Dakota newspapers
- Newspaper Archive - ($), contains images of North Dakota newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some North Dakota newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
- State Historical Society of North Dakota - contains inventory and catalog of all known ND newspapers
- Burke County Obituaries and Death Notices (Various) (Genealogy Trails)
Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.
Online Probate Records
- 1800 – 1985 North Dakota and South Dakota Wills and Probate Records 1800-1985 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1913-1968 - List of People that graduated and attended Portal High School 1913-1968 (NDGenWeb Project)
County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.
Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.
- 1904-1936 - Deaths, Births, Marriages and other items from the Portal International 1904 - 1936 (Note: complete from 1904 to Dec 1921) NDGenWeb Project
- Burke County Marriage Announcements (Genealogy Trails)
Online Death Indexes and Records
North Dakota State University Archives
West Building 3551 7th Avenue
N Fargo, ND 58102
Libraries NDSU Dept #2080
PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
Burke County Historical Society
9129 Powers Lake Road
Powers Lake, ND 58773
- Burke County (USGenWeb Project). May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- Burke County (USGenWeb Archives)
- FamilySearch Catalog The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
- Burke County, North Dakota Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Burke County Data (Genealogy Trails)
- Burke County Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Burke County, North Dakota Genealogy and History
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Burke County, North Dakota. Page 522 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Burke County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.