Burnett County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Burnett County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Burnett County


Guide to Burnett County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Burnett County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 31, 1856
County Seat Siren
Courthouse
Address Burnett County Courthouse
7410 County Road K
Siren, WI 54872;
Phone: 715.349.2173


WI Burnett.png



County Information

Burnett County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1860 1866 1868


Historical Facts

1856--Burnett County was created 31 March 1856 from Polk and Douglas Counties. County seat: Siren [1]

Populated Places

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

WI BURNETT.JPG

Neighboring Counties

Barron  • Chisago County, Minnesota  • Douglas  • Pine County, Minnesota  • Polk  • Washburn

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WIGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WIGenWeb Archives
WITombstone Project
Interment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records

1947 - A Compilation of Burnett Co. Farmers WIGenWeb Project

State Census
  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.  Identifies by name of head of household.  Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.
Federal Census

Church Records

Lutheran

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories

Land and Property

Maps

Military Records

Civil War
World War I (The Great War), 1914-1918
World War II, 1941-1945

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Probate Records

Online Records

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse
Archives
Libraries
Museums
Societies

Grantsburg Area Historical Society
P O Box 35
Grantsburg, WI 54840
Telephone: 715-463-5660 or 715-689-2374
E-mail:gahsmail@grantsburgtelcom.net
Website

Burnett County Historical Society
8500 County Road U
Danbury, WI, 54830-9351
Telephone: 715-866-8890
Fax: 715-866-8081
E-mail:fahp@centurytel.net
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

School Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Burnett County Clerk
7410 County Road K
Siren, WI 54872;
Phone: 715.349.2173

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death records from 1861,
burial records, land records from 1856 and military discharge
records from 1919
Clerk of Courts has divorce, court and 
naturalization records from 1856
Register in Probate has probate
records from 1856[2]

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records

1965 - 1984 Wisconsin, Divorce Index, 1965-1984 at FamilySearch.org — index

Death Records

Voter Registration

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Burnett County, Wisconsin, p.755