Burnham on Crouch, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Burnham on Crouch, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Burnham on Crouch


Guide to Burnham on Crouch, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burnham on Crouch, Essex
St. Mary Burnham-On-Crouch Essex.jpg
St. Mary Burnham-On-Crouch Essex.
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dengie
County Essex
Poor Law Union Maldon
Registration District Maldon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dengie
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Burnham (St Mary the Virgin), is a village and a parish in Maldon district, Essex. The village stands on river Crouch, opposite Walla sea island, it is 8 1/2 miles NNE of Southend railway station, and 10 miles SE of Maldon. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Burnham on Crouch Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1559
1559
1559
Images 1559-1954 EssexAncestors[2] 1559-1957 EssexAncestors[2] 1559-1947 EssexAncestors[2]

Indexes

Pre-1870 findmypast[3] 1559-1914 findmypast[4]


1790-1837 Ancestry[5]

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Christians
  • Particular Baptist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Maldon Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Burnham on Crouch on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England (1870) Adapted: access date 10 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm