Burpham, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Burpham, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||East Preston|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1571|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
BURPHAM (St. Mary), a'paris'h, in the union of Preston (under Gilbert's act), hundred of Poling, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 4½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Arundel.
Burpham St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish in the Arun district of West Sussex.
A history of the church is available Burpham St Mary the Virgin
The parish church of St Mary the Virgin has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Worthing registration district
which was abolished in 1870 and recreated in 1935
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall<br>Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122
Burpham, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Burpham, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1653-1922 Marr 1653-1962 Bur 1653-1999
Bishop's Transcripts 1571-1912
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Burpham
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.