Burton Pedwardine, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Burton Pedwardine, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burton Pedwardine, Lincolnshire
St Andrew Burton Pedwardine Lincolnshire.jpg
St Andrew Burton Pedwardine Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aswardhurn
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Sleaford
Registration District Sleaford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1754
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aswardhurn with Lafford
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

The Ancient Parish of Burton Pedwardine St Andrew includes Hussey and Cold Mareham.

The surviving church of St Andrew was built in 1870 after the collapse of the much larger 14th century church on the site in 1802. The smaller church was constructed using the mediaeval masonry.

The Pedwardine family owned the surrounding land and the hamlet of Burton Pedwardine was associated with the site of their home.

BURTON-PEDWARDINE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Sleaford, wapentake of Ashwardhurn, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 4½ miles (S. E. by E.) from Sleaford; containing 125 inhabitants, and comprising by computation 1800 acres. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Burton Pedwardine Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Burton Penwardine

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438756.


Poor Law Unions

Sleaford Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Genuki Burton Pedwardine

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 448-452. Date accessed: 12 August 2013.