Burton upon Trent, St Paul, Staffordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire

Parish History

Burton upon Trent St Paul was formed as an ecclesisatical parish in 1873 from parts of Burton upon Trent St Modwen, Staffordshire Burton upon Trent Holy Trinity, Staffordshire and Burton upon Trent Christ Church, Staffordshire Ecclesisatical parishes.

Burton St Margaret acted as a mission church to this parish from 1892.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District .

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Burton St Paul

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap1874-1967 Mar 1874-1977Bur no burial ground
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts None

Burton St Margaret Mission Church to St Paul
Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap1892-1967 Mar 1893-1966 Bur no burial ground
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts None

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites