Burwell, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Burwell, Cambridgeshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Burwell, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Burwell, Cambridgeshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staploe
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Newmarket
Registration District Newmarket
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1567
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fordham
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

BURWELL (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Newmarket, hundred of Staploe, county of Cambridge, 4 miles (N. W. by W.) from Newmarket. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Parish registers of Burwell 1562-1860 at the FHL

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Baptismal register for Burwell Independent Chapel, 1747-1836 at the FHL

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241225.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web Sites

Burwell on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 08 January 2014.